You are currently viewing Religious erudition in the Tropics: Missionaries and their visions of empire in the Early-Modern Iberian worlds
Religious erudition in the Tropics: Missionaries and their visions of empire in the Early-Modern Iberian worlds | 8-9 June 2021

Religious erudition in the Tropics: Missionaries and their visions of empire in the Early-Modern Iberian worlds

HOME > RESOURCES > SEMINARS

Religious erudition in the Tropics: Missionaries and their visions of empire in the Early-Modern Iberian worlds

8-9 June 2021

Institute of Advanced Studies
Centre for Early Modern Exchanges
University College London

Dep. Historia Moderna e Historia Contemporánea
Facultad de Geografía e Historia
Universidad Complutense de Madrid

Federico Palomo (UCM)
Zoltán Biedermann (UCL)

Programme

June 8

3pm-3.30pm (GMT) / 16-16.30h (Madrid)

Welcome and Opening remarks
Federico Palomo (UCM) and Zoltán Biedermann (UCL)

3.30pm-5pm (GMT) / 16.30-18.00h (Madrid)

SPIRITUAL CONQUESTS: IMAGINING MISSIONARY EMPIRES

Chair: Pedro Cardim (Universidade Nova de Lisboa)

Julia McClure (University of Glasgow) – Empire of Power and Pain: The Franciscan promotion of penitential confraternities in the New World

Carlos Martín Gálvez Peña (PUCP, Lima) – Writing history in 17th Century Peru: martyrdom and frontier in the work of Giovanni Anello Oliva S.J. (1574-1642)

Nuno Senos (Universidade Nova de Lisboa) – A Global Seraphic Empire: From Brazil to the World

Discussant.: Simon Ditchfield (University of York)

June 9

9am-10.15am (GMT) / 10-11.15h (Madrid)

IMAGES OF ALIEN EMPIRES: PRE-JESUIT PERCEPTIONS

Chair: Guillermo Wilde (CONICET-Universidad Nacional de San Martín)

Zoltán Biedermann (UCL) –Kingship in Francisco Álvares’s Verdadeira Informação and Bartolomé de las Casas’ Apologética Historia

Diego Sola (Universitatde Barcelona) –The China of the Catholic King: Iberian visions and sinological texts in the16th century

Discussant: Antonella Romano (CAK-ÉHESS, Paris)

Break

10.30-11.45am (GMT) / 11.30-12.45h (Madrid)

MISSIONARY PROJECTS AND VISIONS OF THE IBERIAN EMPIRES

Chair: Sabina Pavone (Università di Macerata)

Hélène Vu Thanh (Université de Bretagne-Sud) – Defending the Empire, funding the mission: The shifting discourse of the visitor Alessandro Valignano

Federico Palomo (UCM) – Inmaculate empires, female visions: María Magdalena de la Cruz, her mystical writings and the Franciscan missionary politics in the Iberian frontiers of East Asia

Discussant: Ines G. Županov (CEIAS-CNRS, Paris)

Break

3pm-4.15pm (GMT) / 16-17.15h (Madrid)

THINKING THE EMPIRE IN COLONIAL CONTEXTS

Chair: Jorge Flores (CIUHCT-Universidade de Lisboa)

Ângela Barreto Xavier (Instituto de Ciências Sociais, Lisboa) – The Prince and the Empire from a Goan perspective: Franciscan political writings during the government of King Afonso VI

Ananya Chakravarti (Georgetown University) – The Empire of Apostles: Portuguese Jesuits and a Religious Imagination of Empire in the 17th Century

Discussant: Fernando Bouza (UCM)

Break

4.30pm-5.30pm (GMT) / 17.30-18.30h (Madrid)

PROJECT “TRÓPICOS LETRADOS”

Ana Isabel López-Salazar Codes (UCM) – Presentation of the Data Base Religious erudition and Images of the Portuguese Empire

Conclusion

Source

Institute of Advanced Studies, University College London
https://www.ucl.ac.uk/institute-of-advanced-studies/events/2021/jun/virtual-workshop-religious-erudition-tropics

Leave a Reply