The Society of Jesus is a transnational Catholic religious order whose mission is spread across six continents. While its headquarters are situated in Rome, its administrative units are made up of provinces.

Jesuit province territories do not necessarily follow national boundaries and are often multicultural as well as multilingual. Similarly, their territories have constantly been reconfigured according to the changing needs of the mission of the Society of Jesus.1

Clusters of provinces are then grouped together for purposes of collaboration and networking into six larger assistancies:

  • Africa-Madagascar: Jesuit Conference of Africa and Madagascar (JCAM)
  • América Latina: Conferencia de Provinciales en América Latina y El Caribe (CPAL)
  • Asia Pacific: Jesuit Conference of Asia Pacific (JCAP)
  • Canada-USA: Jesuit Conference of Canada and the United States (JCCU)
  • Europe: Jesuit Conference of European Provincials (JCEP)
  • South Asia: Jesuit Conference of South Asia (JCSA)


  1. Arturo Sosa SJ, “So why change the configuration of the Jesuit “Provinces”?”, Interviews, Curia Generalizia della Compagnia di Gesù, 18 October 2019, (accessed on 22 October 2019) 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.